Standing by My Bed

img_1948

I stood by your bed last night, I came to have a peep. I could  see that  you were crying , You found it hard to sleep

I spoke to you softly as you  brushed away a tear, “its me, I haven’t left you. I am well , I am fine, and I am here.

I was close to you at breakfast and it wasn’t hard  to see , You were  thinking of the many times your hands reached out to me.

I was with you in the yard today.  Your arms were getting  sore, as I watched you work, I wished I could help you more.

I was with you at my grave today , you tend it with such care. I want to reassure you that I am not lying there.

I walked with you towards your house, as you fumble for your keys. I gently put my hand on you, I smiled and said “its me”. You looked so very tired and sank into your chair. I tried so hard to let you know , that I was standing there.

As you sat there very quietly,  I think you knew…. In the quiet of that evening I was very close to you

The day is over, I smile and say “Goodnight, I will see you in your dreams , now try to get some sleep “.

Leave a Reply

